Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 4 years 1 month ago onto Writing Guides

The Ultimate Hero's Journey: 195 Essential Plot Stages Found in the Best Novels & Movies

What do STAR WARS, HARRY POTTER, and RED RIDING HOOD have all in common? Not one, not ten, but 195 things. This may be hard to believe, but all the best novels and movies follow a common narrative pattern known as the Hero’s Journey.

In The Ultimate Hero's Journey, writers of all fiction can have a look into Hollywood’s manual on how to create a classic story.

All the 195 plot milestones found in the greatest stories of all times are outlined here—clearly, exactly, concisely.

If you are writing a novel as a plotter and planner, rather than a pantser, you need to start with story structure. Here's one way to do that. Step into this mythical landscape and follow your favourite heroes along The Ultimate Hero’s Journey, as you discover the master structure of timeless storytelling.

Each of the 195 story structure sections has a description, examples and related topics to reference.

You can use this writing guide to develop the bigger picture of your story or to define scenes down to the finest detail.

Upvote this Pin: 
0

Log in to vote
Genre: 
Comments
Leave your comment below
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Pinned onto the category

Writing Books

Why Men Love BitchesThe Fantasy Fiction FormulaYour Novel's First 50 PagesBeginnings By Paula MunierA~Z Writers’ Character Quirks45 Master Characters by Victoria Lynn SchmidtThe Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character ExpressionA Writer's Guide to the ZodiacWriting Fight ScenesThe Positive Trait ThesaurusWriting Historical Fiction: Creating the Historical Blockbuster
Bullies, Bitches and Bastards by Jessica Page Morrell
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

A Writer's Guide to the Zodiac
The McDougal Pack Alpha Paranormal Romance Giveaway
Historical Mystery Thrillers for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse
Dream Eater Urban Fantasy Book Giveaway
Why Men Love Bitches
Win Breath by Tim Winton and Picador Books in our Christmas Reading Giveaway.
Pinned onto the board

Writing Guides

Medieval Costume in England and France: The 13th, 14th and 15th Centuries
learning to write a killer thriller
The Author's Checklist
The Fantasy Fiction Formula
Marc McCutcheon's Building Believable Characters
The Rural and Urban Settings Thesaurus
Scroll to top