Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 5 years 9 months ago onto Writing Guides

Marc McCutcheon's Building Believable Characters

Think of Scarlett O’ Hara from Gone With The Wind or Scout Finch from To Kill A Mockingbird. They never ever lived and they’ll never die. Yet Margaret Mitchell and Harper Lee made their characters so believable they became immortal.

In our special featured series on building fictional characters we are building a reference so you can create characters who think, love, hope, cry, feel pain and even inflict pain.

As an aspiring author or a published novelist you are always working towards the process of building convincing characters for your stories and novels and here we look at three great reads - Marc McCutcheon's Building Believable Characters, Making Faces by 8Fish and Rachel Ballon's Breathing Life Into Your Characters.
Building Believable Characters

Marc McCutcheon, in his book Building Believable Characters, starts by conducting an inspiring and informative roundtable where six novelists reveal their approaches to characterisation. Next, he provides a character questionnaire more detailed than the nosiest survey where you can flesh out the fictional people in your novels and stories.

Upvote this Pin: 
0

Log in to vote
Pinned onto the category

Writing Books

A~Z Writers’ Character QuirksPlot Perfect By Paula MunierCreate Vivid Memorable SettingsBullies, Bitches and Bastards by Jessica Page Morrell Writing Historical Fiction: Creating the Historical Blockbuster Marc McCutcheon's Building Believable CharactersWhy Men Love BitchesArmed And Dangerous Writers Guide To WeaponsBreathing Life Into Your Characters
How to Write and Sell Historical Fiction
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

Historical Mystery Thrillers for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse
Writing Thrillers To Scare The Pants Off Your Readers
Mind-Blogging Story Structure
Online Etymology Dictionary For Historical Fiction Writers
When Is The Inciting Incident In A Story Plot
Heartstone (The Shardlake series)
Pinned onto the board

Writing Guides

Fashion in the Middle Ages
A Writer's Guide to the Zodiac
Plot Perfect By Paula Munier
Bullies, Bitches and Bastards by Jessica Page Morrell
Light Up Your Writing Path
1000 Strong Verbs for  Fiction  Writers
Scroll to top