Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 1 year 8 months ago onto Writing Guides

45 Master Characters by Victoria Lynn Schmidt

How do you start to build fictional characters when you're an an aspiring writer or author?

Using Victoria Lynn Schmidt’s archetypes will help you make sense of your character and their world. It certainly will help you to address, explore and deal with current situations coming out of your plot.

Before you are put off by the word ‘Archetypes – they are, quite simply, unconscious image patterns that cross cultural boundaries.

Like Zodiac signs for building characters, archetypes form the basic skeleton of your novel’s characters. But of course, you can’t stop with the skeleton, unless your book is about living skeletons – and even then you’ll need to add flesh and blood and thoughts and feelings.

If you think of a stereotype for your character it only gives you a general idea – it doesn’t tell you anything about their motivation, goals and fears.

Victoria's 45 Master Characters helps you to make exciting discoveries about your book’s people. Using her guide and your plot points you will find ways to show how your character will react to that situation (your plot).

This is what drives your story forward, not the plot point itself. A character doesn’t decide to go into a burning building because that is what your plot point says he should do – he goes inside because it is in his nature to do so.

This book is an invaluable tool for all aspiring writers and novelists.

It forces you to delve deeper into your characters and see them as a type of person who responds in a very specific way to the conflict in your story. Read the full review of 45 Master Characters along with lots of other great writing books.

 

Paula Wynne is the founder of Book Luver.

Paula's Writers' Resource Series features the following books: Pimp My Fiction: How to Write a Novel with The Ultimate List of Creative Writing Books to Create A Plot & Build Character; A~Z Writers’ Character Quirks: A~ Z of Behaviours, Foibles, Habits, Mannerisms & Quirks for Writers’ to Create Fictional and 101 Writers’ Scene Settings: Unique Location Ideas & Sensory Details for Writers’ to Create Vivid Scene.

Find out more about the Writers' Resource Series here. If you would like to find out how to write a bestselling novel, download a free copy of Paula's Pimp My Fiction.

Follow Paula on Amazon's Author Central to find out when she publishes more books. Or you can follow Paula on Twitter and Facebook.

 

Upvote this Pin: 
5
Average: 5
Log in to vote
Comments
Leave your comment below
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Pinned onto the category

Writing Books

Create Vivid Memorable Settings1000 Strong Verbs for  Fiction  WritersBullies, Bitches and Bastards by Jessica Page Morrell The Emotional Craft of Fiction: How to Write with Emotional Power, Develop Achingly Real Characters, Move Your Readers, and Create Riveting Moral Stakes James Scott Bell’s Plot and StructureThe Positive Trait ThesaurusThe Rural and Urban Settings ThesaurusThe Ultimate Hero's Journey: 195 Essential Plot Stages Found in the Best Novels & MoviesA Writer's Guide to the ZodiacSkeptic's Guide to ConspiraciesWriting Fight Scenes
The Fantasy Fiction Formula
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

Gloria Kempton in her book called Dialogue
Breaking Down Story Structure
Undeniable Fate Erotic Book Giveaway
Historical Mystery Thrillers for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse
Find out when new Thrillers are published
Pinned onto the board

Writing Guides

Description And Setting In A Novel by Ron Rozelle
learning to write a killer thriller
James Scott Bell’s Plot and Structure
The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer's Guide to Character Expression
The Positive Trait Thesaurus
The Emotional Craft of Fiction: How to Write with Emotional Power, Develop Achingly Real Characters, Move Your Readers, and Create Riveting Moral Stakes

1 Likes

Paula Wynne's picture
Scroll to top