Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 1 year 8 months ago onto Writing Advice

Swearing For Writers

Source: https://kathysteinemann.com/Musings/cursing/

To swear or not to swear ...that is often a dilemma for writers. Will you lose your die-hard readers if your characters swear? They may be a cursing personality type, but many readers don't like to read - and thus have in their mind - hard-core swearing.

Kathy Steinemann explains how you can prevent your readers being intimidated by profanity and thus appeal to a larger reading audience if you avoid cursing.

In saying that, she also accepts that zero profanity is often unrealistic. If you overdo the cursing, your work will come off like the amusing tirade of an angry adolescent. Eliminate all but the occasional necessary swear words and follow Kathy's examples of how to change your sentences to show that the character may be cursing, but not in actual swear words.

In her article, Kathy gives a truly comprehensive list of ways a write can show cursing but not actually using F-words or worse. To see what I mean browse down her long list of alternatives to swear words and then see how you can do similar with your characters that swear.

Upvote this Pin: 
0

Log in to vote
Comments
Leave your comment below
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Pinned onto the category

Writing Advice

A Comparison of Seven Story Structure ModelsUniting Story Structure and Character ArcDecide Your Novel LengthWriting Thrillers To Scare The Pants Off Your Readers3 Acts to Your Story StructureWhen Is The Inciting Incident In A Story Plotlearning to write a killer thrillerHow To Create A LoglineStructure Your NovelSwearing For Writers
What Is Story Theme?
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

Historical Mystery Thrillers for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse
Writing A Suspense Conspiracy Thriller
A Secret Is Deadly in the Wrong Hands
Meridia Falls Series Book Giveaway
Online Etymology Dictionary For Historical Fiction Writers
Grab your FREE historical thriller
Pinned onto the board

Writing Advice

Ways To Say Dad In Different Languages
The First Complete History Of Mobile Phones For Writers
Facts About the Use of Honey Throughout History
How To Create A Logline
Swearing For Writers
Uniting Story Structure and Character Arc
Scroll to top