Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 1 year 2 weeks ago onto Writing Advice

Breaking Down Story Structure

Source: https://scriptangel.wordpress.com/tag/michael-hague/

I have always used and preferred Michael Hauge's story structure, simply because it comes naturally to me while writing. However, after doing some research for my last novel, I was reacquainted with Chris Vogler - having read his Hero's Journey early in my writing career. At that time I thought his Story Structure for writers was too long-winded, but suddenly it all seemed to fall into place.

That possibly happened due to the passage of time and more experience in writing. The lesson for writers here is to be always questioning and thus always learning about the art of the creative writing process.

So back to reality and questioning story structure. I googled story structure models and found a buffet of images comparing everything from Michael Hauge's process to Vogler, Watts and Field.

On the various formulas for story structure, The Script Angel put it aptly: There are many ways to Skin The Cat. They used this diagram by JT Velikovsky (creator of StoryAlity) which breaks down the terminology and templates used by different schools of thought on screenplay structure.

Read The Script Angel's post to see what Xandria Horton has learned about story structure.

Upvote this Pin: 
0

Log in to vote
Comments
Leave your comment below
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Pinned onto the category

Writing Advice

Writing a Psychopathic CharacterWriting A Psychological Thriller3 Acts to Your Story StructureHow To Create A LoglineUniting Story Structure and Character ArcWriting A Suspense Conspiracy Thriller8 Point Story ArcStructure Your NovelWriting Thrillers To Scare The Pants Off Your Readers
12 Point Hero's Journey
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

Win A Historical Thriller Boxset
Dancing in the Rain Historical Fiction Giveaway
The Grotto's Secret - Gripping Suspense
Historical Mystery Thrillers for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse
What Is Story Theme?
12 Point Hero's Journey
Pinned onto the board

Writing Advice

Free Writing Resources
The First Complete History Of Mobile Phones For Writers
Writing a Psychopathic Character
Excel Worksheets For Writers
3 Acts to Your Story Structure
Mind-Blogging Story Structure
Scroll to top