Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 3 years 8 months ago onto Writing Advice

8 Point Story Arc

Source: https://writinggoals.com/pimp-my-fiction-free-book

This all sounds extremely formulaic, but it doesn’t have to be. Yes, having some kind of basic structure woven around your novel and plot threads is important, but they are meant to be flexible.

The ‘Blueprints’ chapter of Pimp My Fiction provides templates for writing your novel, which are certain to show you a light at the end of the writing tunnel.

This 8 point arc was created by Nigel Watts, and it’s a perfect tool for keeping your story on track. When you start a new novel, this template is a good exercise to guide you into writing up a very loose and basic idea of how your story is going to pan out.

You may find that your plot hits on all these points, and you’ll feel great knowing that you’re on the right track.

Nigel’s eight points:

1.    Stasis
2.    Trigger
3.    The quest
4.    Surprise
5.    Critical choice
6.    Climax
7.    Reversal
8.    Resolution

If you make notes straight into a document which describes each stage, it is pretty easy to plot out your storyline. It acts almost like a synopsis of how your story progresses with character growth points. Once you have established the basic plan, you can continue to add sub plots and any other notes into the eight stages as they come to you. This bare outline slowly builds into the skeleton of your novel.

Find more on Story Structures.

Grab your copy free copy of Pimp My Fiction here.

Upvote this Pin: 
0

Log in to vote
Comments
Leave your comment below
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Pinned onto the category

Writing Advice

What Is Story Theme?Write Villains Readers Love to Hate8 Point Story ArcHow To Create A LoglineWriting Thrillers To Scare The Pants Off Your Readerslearning to write a killer thriller3 Acts to Your Story StructureOnline Etymology Dictionary For Historical Fiction WritersPsychological Thrillers That Will Mess With Your HeadUniting Story Structure and Character Arc
A Comparison of Seven Story Structure Models
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

The Grotto's Secret - Scariest Villain Since Hannibal Lecter
The Grotto's Secret
Historical Mystery Thrillers for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse
River Whispers Mystery Suspense Giveaway
Writing Thrillers To Scare The Pants Off Your Readers
Pinned onto the board

Writing Advice

Decide Your Novel Length
3 Acts to Your Story Structure
Excel Worksheets For Writers
Breaking Down Story Structure
Mind-Blogging Story Structure
Psychological Thrillers That Will Mess With Your Head
Scroll to top